Crazy stupid love

Dandy09Jun16-02Ok, ok, I have to admit it, this colt has stolen my heart

I kind of (dumbly) pride myself in being a tough cookie, not easily gotten to. Horses in particular I have never considered as “pets” at anytime. I don’t feed carrots and apples, and this particular horse has never been hand fed by me the entire time I’ve had him (3 months now, time sure flies !). I like a clean and classy looking horse, but I’m not anal either about shampooing and brushing and color choices of leg wraps and bonnets (lol). I love high quality saddles for the good fit and comfort they provide, but my whole take towards horses and horsemanship is usually that of efficiency, not cheesiness.

Dandy09Jun16-04Yeah. That was before THAT little face !

I mean, seriously, how cute is that colt ?? Not only is he just gorgeous, but his whole attitude is so sweet, trustful and willing to please, that I’m not ashamed to admit he’s stolen my heart entirely. Someone enquired about buying him the other day. GET OUTTA HERE !!

Dandy09Jun16-01Today’s session was… laborious. Not bad, not great, just fell under Buck’s definition “At first you do what’s necessary…” (then you do what’s possible, and soon, you’re doing the impossible). We still have a hard time getting a proper bend while moving, and he tends to cut in tiny little laps, rather than flexing properly on a nice old circle. And that’s totally natural for a colt this age, and this green. He does it mostly to the left, too, the right side is better. So we worked on that, and it appeared all the sudden that some “scary spots” in the arena needed to be taken care of. I let him rest as close to the scary end as we would comfortably go. Soon we’d lope circles, he’d deliberately go to that place and stop himself there “may I have a break ?”. So I know what to start with tomorrow, destination addiction is first on our to do list. He picked me off the fence like a pro, now we’ll try on the other side. AND, the biggest news, we took a walk outside !

It wasn’t a proper “ride”, as we didn’t go on the trail, it only lasted maybe 10 or 12 minutes and we just walked, but that was a big achievement for both of us. At first he just wanted to go down the (paved) road. I’m fine with that, except that horse has absolutely NO experience of cars in motion, and we all know how criminally stupid drivers can be around horses, so I’m not wrecking my precious horse (along with my very precious self), on a road, oh no I’m not. So I let him go a little ways on that road (with a good view of a very empty strech ahead), then turned him around and said, let’s explore the farm’s surroundings instead. Boy, that was scary. Picnic tables, kid’s plaground with a swing (windy day, it moved !), horse-eating plastic trashbins, parked cars, a threatening looking mail box. American flags gently flowing in the wind (every Western barn has those, don’t they ?). We walked among and between all those fascinating but frightening objects, on a lose rein (horses tend to panic when they feel trapped) and when he felt unsure enough about something to want to stop, he was allowed to do so as long as he kept pointing towards the “scary” thing. I rubbed on his neck, played with hils mane, and patted his rump, and after a while he’d let out a sigh, and we could move on, past whatever had scared him a minute ago.

My coach’s take on the whole thing ? “Wash -rinse – repeat”. “You’ll feel his confidence grow enormously” he wrote. Love that !

Leave a Reply

