Bareback & groundwork day

dandy23dec16-03Winter sessions, 2 days before Christmas, I felt too lazy to saddle

We had a pretty good and thorough groundwork session, but not only. We quietly walked along the (usually super scary rail), that didn’t seem all that concerning (at least on foot) today. After which we lunged at the trot, working at getting some focus and good engagement, and the lope. Worked on the stop, changing direction, and picking up gaits on cue again. Then we worked at parrallel parking from the fence, me sitting atop it. Dandy did well about it, trying to chew on the wood rail a couple of times, but keeping from munching on my legs, as he has attempted before in similar circumstances. To the right, to the left, to the right again, to the left. We worked at it a bunch of times at the scariest part of the rail, and he was super focused and not concerned much about the outside. But as a matter of precaution I moved him to the part of the rail I normally use, and got on, bareback. We walked and trotted a little, even took up the lope for a few strides, but I wasn’t super sure about him being good, so we mostly trotted some circles, got him to change directions of my legs, and stood quietly. Then I slipped off his back, and worked at yielding his various body parts, shoulder, hip, ribcage. We backed-up trying to focus not on his body but on his tought, and I’d only release when he was thinking hard about moving back with energy. I’m not very good at picking up his thought yet, but I felt I could feel it today, so I’m hopeful for some improvement.

dandy23dec16-02

When I was satifisfied everything worked well, I put him in the cross-ties and gave him a good cleaning. His attitude there is vastly improved.

dandy23dec16-01D minus one week until the barn transfer, stay tuned !

Leave a Reply

